Holiday Sweets & Treats!

I am back from an incredible mini city break holiday!

My boyfriend arranged a trip that I had wanted to do ever since I did a school project at around the age of 8. Finally, I got to go to Greece! Specifically Athens! He did his research and found not only an amazing hotel but it was directly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus and so close to lots of other sites I wanted to see!

In between all the site seeing I somehow managed to squeeze in a lot of food, especially of the sweet variety! These are just some of the tasty treats we got to try whilst in Athens, they are not all necessarily traditionally Greek, but they were tasty and sweet and that was all that mattered to me!

IMG_8852-1


Greek Sweets & Treats

Fresko Yogurt Bar

I am not a huge fan off Greek yogurt, but thought I really should give it a go considering I was actually in Greece. I went to Fresko with traditional yogurt in mind to try. The guy at the counter suggested that I should try fig and grape spoon sweets with walnuts on my yogurt. It blew my mind! It was scrummy. There was such a lovely balance with the tartness of the yogurt and the spoon sweets. The walnuts add another texture to the sweet treat with a layer or crunch. The following day I tried it with mandarin and walnuts, however the fig and grape was by far my favourite.

IMG_8861

IMG_9158

Bakery Who’s Name Escapes Me

Unfortunately I forgot to make a note of the name of this little bakery but we had scrummy baklava, baklava ice cream and a profiterole dessert. My favourite out of all this was the Kataifi (shredded wheat looking one).

IMG_9188IMG_9367 IMG_9213

ΚΩΝΣΤΑΝΤΙΝΙΔΗΣ

This Greek Patisserie was amazing! You are able to see the pastry chefs hard at work behind the counter with a fantastic array of desserts, pastries, bread and ice cream. As the labels for all the desserts were all in Greek, it was a bit of pot luck for us, so we just limited ourselves to 3 different sweet treats. The lovely lady at the counter gave us one pastry free of charge and then gave us both almond brioche to try as well (yum). This little gem is definitely worth checking out.
IMG_9372IMG_9378IMG_9381 Gods Restaurant

This restaurant was incredible from the generous and tasty food to the waiters and manager! I couldn’t recommend this place highly enough! The desserts were lovely, at the managers recommendation we tried the baklava and semolina cake (mouth watering). We were then given complimentary Greek doughnuts and chocolate tequila.

FullSizeRender (1) FullSizeRender (2) FullSizeRender


IMG_8993-1

Leave a comment